Penny Oleksiak Named Ontario Sports Hall of Fame’s Syl Apps Athlete of the Year

Thursday, April 13, 2017

The Ontario Sports Hall of Fame is proud to recognize Penny Oleksiak as the 2016 Syl Apps Ontario Athlete of the Year.   

Penny Oleksiak had a record-setting Olympic debut at Rio 2016 when she became the first Canadian athlete to win four medals at a single summer Games. Oleksiak is the 19th winner of the award named after legendary athlete Syl Apps.  

This year’s finalists also included: Rosie MacLennan (gymnastics), Andre De Grasse (athletics), Joey Votto (baseball), Derek Drouin (athletics), Brooke Henderson (golf), Aaron Sanchez (baseball), Sebastian Giovinco (soccer), Milos Raonic (tennis), Ghislaine Landry (rugby), Brad Sinopoli (football), Damian Warner (athletics), and Erica Wiebe (wrestling).  

The Ontario-wide online vote to determine the award recipient concluded on March 31st, 2017.   

The Syl Apps Ontario Athlete of the Year Award celebrates the contributions of top athletes in Ontario, and is awarded to the athlete who has made an outstanding and memorable contribution to Ontario sports during the previous calendar year.   

Since its inception in 1997, winners of the Syl Apps Athlete of the Year Award have included football player Brad Sinopoli, golfer Brooke 
Henderson, tennis player Milos Raonic, gymnast Rosie MacLennan, and figure skater Patrick Chan.  

The Class of 2017 will be honoured at the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame 2017 Induction Ceremony & Awards Gala in Toronto at The Westin Harbour Castle (Metropolitan Ballroom) on October 2, 2017.  

For tickets and more information on the 2017 Induction Ceremony & Awards Gala, please call (647) 258-9647 or email Follow the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram for the latest news. 

Ontario Sport Hall of Fame |

Photo: Swimming Canada


News Category: 

Latest News

  • VISTA Logo
    April 25, 2017
    The Seoul 1988 bronze medallist will pass on his knowledge at the scientific conference in September. US Army veteran and Paralympic medallist Dr. Rory Cooper has been confirmed as a keynote speaker at September’s VISTA 2017 Conference in Toronto,...
  • 4x200m Gold
    April 25, 2017
    The 4x200-metre relay quartet of Gavin Smellie (Brampton, Ont.), Brendon Rodney (Brampton, Ont.), Andre De Grasse (Markham, Ont.) and Aaron Brown (Toronto) crossed the line first in a time of 1:19.42. The 4x200-metres gold is the first medal won by...
  • Tricia Smith
    April 24, 2017
    Canada’s sport community has renewed its confidence in Tricia Smith as President of the C anadian Olympic Committee ( COC ). Members of the COC Session, comprised of sport leaders, athletes and coaches, voted unanimously to give Ms. Smith a second...
  • April 20, 2017
    Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame revealed the six Athletes, one Team, and two sport “Builders” who will make up the Class of 2017. Induction into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame is considered the country’s highest sporting honour and reinforces the...
  • April 18, 2017
    Canada finished sixth in the Women’s Team Pursuit on Thursday at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Hong Kong. It was a disappointing result for the squad that has finished in the medals at the world championships every year since 2012,...