Nineteen athletes to represent Canada at Canoe Marathon World Championships

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

OTTAWA, ON - The 2013 ICF Canoe Marathon World Championships are set to get underway this week in Copenhagen, Denmark and Canadian paddlers are ready to show their endurance over races of up to 30.1 kilometres that include several portages. Fifteen Canadian paddlers will compete at the ICF Canoe Marathon World Championships from Friday to Sunday, while four Canadian masters will race at the Master’s Championships on Wednesday and Thursday.

The team roster includes three Olympians from the canoe sprint discipline. Olympic bronze medallist Mark Oldershaw of Burlington, ON will be racing a course of 28.5 kilometres with six portages. That’s a distance twenty-eight and a half times longer than his 1000 metre Olympic specialty. Oldershaw has already shown his endurance abilities on the international scene this year and won a bronze medal in the C1 5000 metre at the World Championships on September 1.

Emilie Fournel, a 2008 and 2012 Olympian from Lachine, QC, will race the Women’s K1 on Saturday. Tamlyn Bohm of Toronto, ON will race the Women’s K1 as well. She posted the Canadian team’s top marathon result in 2012 and 2013 with sixth and eleventh place finishes, respectively. On Sunday Fournel and Bohm will team up to race K2, making for a total weekend race distance of over fifty kilometres.

Jason Rusu of Calgary is a 1992 Olympian and will race the Senior Men’s K1 on Saturday along with former National Team member Dave Anderson of Winnipeg. The two will team up to race K2 on Sunday.

Jan Malherbe (Duncan, BC), Michael Thomas (Quebec, QC), and Richard Macdonald (Quebec, QC) will also race in the senior men’s kayak class. Jon Pike of Dartmouth, NS will join Oldershaw at the start line for the Men’s C1.

Junior competitors include Eric Slamen (Richmond Hill, ON), Mark Marschalko (Halifax, NS), Zach Morgan (Kamloops, BC) and Keiffer Johnson (Kamloops, BC). Neil Lang (Waverley, NS) and Frank Desrosier (Ottawa, ON) will compete in the Under 23 men’s kayak class. The four Canadian Masters at the competition include Darryl Bohm (Toronto, ON), Robert Lang (Rothsay, NB), Marc Nemec (Richmond Hill, ON) and Fridrich Lederer (Vancouver, BC).

Canadian Team Line-Up

(Wednesday, September 18)
K1 Men (Master 55-59)
Robert Lang (Rothsay, NB)
Darryl Bohm (Toronto, ON)
K1 Men (Master 65-69)
Marc Nemec (Richmond Hill, ON)

K1 Men (Master 70-74)
Fridrich Lederer (Vancouver, BC)

(Thursday, September 19)
K2 Men (Master 55-59)
Darryl Bohm (Toronto, ON) & Robert Lang (Rothsay, NB)

K2 Men (Master 65-69)
Marc Nemec (Richmond Hill, ON) & Karel Suler (Switzerland)

(Friday, September 20)
Junior Men K1
Eric Slamen (Richmond Hill, ON)
Mark Marschalko (Halifax, NS)

Junior Men Canoe
Zach Morgan (Kamloops, BC)
Keiffer Johnson (Kamloops, BC)

U23 Men Kayak
Neil Lang (Waverley, NS)
Frank Desrosier (Ottawa, ON)

(Saturday, September 21)
Junior Men’s K2
Eric Slamen (Richmond Hill, ON) & Mark Marschalko (Halifax, NS)

Junior Men’s C2
Zach Morgan (Kamloops, BC) & Keiffer Johnson (Kamloops, BC)

Senior Women K1
Emilie Fournel (Lachine, QC)
Tamlyn Bohm (Toronto, ON)

Senior Men Canoe
Mark Oldershaw (Burlington, ON)
Jon Pike (Dartmouth, NS)

Senior Men K1
Dave Anderson (Winnipeg, MB)
Jan Malherbe (Duncan, BC)
Michael Thomas (Quebec, QC)
Richard MacDonald (Quebec, QC)
Jason Rusu (Calgary, AB)

(Sunday, September 21)
Senior Women K2
Emilie Fournel (Lachine, QC) & Tamlyn Bohm (Toronto, ON)

Senior Men K2
Dave Anderson (Winnipeg, MB) & Jason Rusu (Calgary, AB)
Michael Thomas (Quebec, QC) & Richard Macdonald (Quebec, QC)

Race Distances
Seniors Men’s Kayak - 30.1 kilometres with 7 portages
Seniors Women’s Kayak and Men’s Canoe - 25.8 kilometres with 6 portages
U23 Men’s Kayak - 25.8 kilometres with 6 portages
U23 Women’s Kayak and Men’s Canoe - 21.5 kilometres with 5 portages
Junior Men’s Kayak - 21.5 km with 5 portages
Junior Women’s Kayak and Men’s Canoe- 17.2 kilometres with 4 portages)

News Category: 

Latest News

  • August 18, 2017
    The fall will see the launch of the Ontario Para-swimming Academy at the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre that will give Ontario Para-swimmers the resources needed to succeed on the international stage. The new initiative will be managed by Don Burton...
  • Ontario Athletes Bring Home 212 Medals
    August 15, 2017
    Ontario athletes topped the medal standings at the 2017 Canada Summer Games, bringing home 212 medals and making fans across the province proud. Team Ontario’s athletes are returning home with 87 gold, 65 silver and 60 bronze medals, including...
  • International Paralympic Committee VISTA 2017 Conference Volunteer Call-Out
    August 14, 2017
    Do you have a passion for Paralympic Sport Science and Sport Medicine? For volunteering? Have you ever dreamed of taking part in a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and representing your hometown? Well look no further! About VISTA 2017 Toronto, Ontario...
  • RBC Training Ground seeks podium potential athletes in Ontario
    July 31, 2017
    TORONTO (July 31, 2017) - This Fall, four RBC Training Ground Local Qualifiers are set to take place across Ontario, culminating with a Regional Final in Toronto this October in the hopes of finding new Olympic talent. Canadian Sport Institute...
  • Mixed free relay earns third medal for Canada
    July 31, 2017
    BUDAPEST , Hungary – Canada picked up its third medal of the FINA World Championships Saturday, earning bronze in the mixed 4×100-metre freestyle relay in Budapest, Hungary. The team of Yuri Kisil, Javier Acevedo, Chantal Van Landeghem and Penny...