CanoeKayak Canada Names 27 Athletes To World Cup Tour Teams

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

CanoeKayak Canada is pleased to name 27 athletes to its Senior World Cup Tour Team following the first set of Canadian Sprint CanoeKayak Team Trials on Lake Lanier in Gainesville, Georgia.

“The performances we saw at trials over the past three days were very encouraging,” said Scott Logan, CanoeKayak Canada’s High Performance Director. “As we get further into the quadrennial and continue to refine our high performance systems, we’re able to predict benchmarks with more certainty. Thanks to the outstanding work being done by athletes, coaches, support staff and sport partners, we’re progressing confidently towards our 2016 goals. We’re looking forward to heading to Europe to line up against the rest of the World.”

Seven athletes will start the tour in Milan, Italy for the first ICF World Cup this coming weekend. The full Canadian team will arrive in Europe on May 11 for World Cups 2 and 3 in Racice, Czech Republic and Szeged, Hungary.

World Cups will be televised on Sportsnet, CanoeKayak Canada’s exclusive broadcast partner for World Cups and World Championships. Broadcast times will be posted the week of each event at and

Click here to read the complete story from CanoeKayak Canada.

World Cup Tour Team

Men’s Kayak | Athlete / Club / Hometown / Coach
Adam van Koeverden / Burloak / Oakville, ON / Scott Oldershaw / Larry Cain
Brady Reardon / Burloak / Burlington, ON / Dave Robertson / Scott Oldershaw
Philippe Duchesneau / Pointe-Claire / Montreal, QC / Dave Robertson / Marc Creamer
Andrew Jessop / Maskwa / Halifax, NS / Dave Robertson / Chad Brooks
Rob Clarke / Burloak / Mississauga, ON / Dave Robertson
Mark de Jonge / Maskwa / Halifax, NS / Frederic Jobin
Ryan Cochrane / Lac-Beauport / Windsor, NS / Frederic Jobin
Hugues Fournel / Lachine / Montreal, QC / Frederic Jobin
Richard Dober Jr. / Lac-Beauport / Trois-Riviere, QC / Frederic Jobin
Etienne Morneau / Lac-Beauport / Quebec, QC / Frederic Jobin

Men’s Canoe | Athlete / Club / Hometown / Coach
Mark Oldershaw / Burloak / Burlington, ON / Scott Oldershaw / Larry Cain
Ben Russell / Banook / Dartmouth, NS / Lazlo (Csom) Latorovszki
Gabriel Beauchesne-Sevigny / Trois-Rivieres / Trois-Rivieres, QC / Lazlo (Csom) Latorovszki
Paul Bryant / Burloak / Richmond Hill, ON / Lazlo (Csom) Latorovszki / Scott Oldershaw
Roland Varga / Richmond Hill / Richmond Hill, ON / Lazlo (Csom) Latorovszki
Jason McCoombs / Banook / Dartmouth, NS / Robert Stott / Jan Kruk
Ben Tardioli / Rideau / Ottawa, ON / Robert Stott / Mike Robinson

Women’s Kayak | Athlete / Club / Hometown / Coach
Emilie Fournel / Lachine / Montreal, QC / Mark Granger / Franck Gomez
Una Lounder / Senobe / Dartmouth, NS / Mark Granger
KC Fraser / Balmy Beach / Oakville, ON / Mark Granger / Peter Martinek
Hannah Vaughan / Banook / Dartmouth, NS / Mark Granger / Jan Kruk
Michelle Russell / Cheema / Waverely, NS / Mark Granger / Mike Kerrivan

Women’s Canoe | Athlete / Club / Hometown / Coach
Taylor Potts / Balmy Beach / Toronto, ON / Rob Stott / Adam Oldershaw
Mariah Godin / Cheema / Dartmouth, NS / Rob Stott / Mike Kerrivan

Paracanoe | Athlete / Club / Hometown / Coach
Christine Gauthier / Pointe-Claire / Toronto, ON / Mark Granger
Dave Waters / Maskwa / Fox Point, NS / Mark Granger / Jon Pike
Christian Maranda / Lac Beauport / Quebec, QC / Luc Grenier

News Category: 

Latest News

  • August 18, 2017
    The fall will see the launch of the Ontario Para-swimming Academy at the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre that will give Ontario Para-swimmers the resources needed to succeed on the international stage. The new initiative will be managed by Don Burton...
  • Ontario Athletes Bring Home 212 Medals
    August 15, 2017
    Ontario athletes topped the medal standings at the 2017 Canada Summer Games, bringing home 212 medals and making fans across the province proud. Team Ontario’s athletes are returning home with 87 gold, 65 silver and 60 bronze medals, including...
  • International Paralympic Committee VISTA 2017 Conference Volunteer Call-Out
    August 14, 2017
    Do you have a passion for Paralympic Sport Science and Sport Medicine? For volunteering? Have you ever dreamed of taking part in a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and representing your hometown? Well look no further! About VISTA 2017 Toronto, Ontario...
  • RBC Training Ground seeks podium potential athletes in Ontario
    July 31, 2017
    TORONTO (July 31, 2017) - This Fall, four RBC Training Ground Local Qualifiers are set to take place across Ontario, culminating with a Regional Final in Toronto this October in the hopes of finding new Olympic talent. Canadian Sport Institute...
  • Mixed free relay earns third medal for Canada
    July 31, 2017
    BUDAPEST , Hungary – Canada picked up its third medal of the FINA World Championships Saturday, earning bronze in the mixed 4×100-metre freestyle relay in Budapest, Hungary. The team of Yuri Kisil, Javier Acevedo, Chantal Van Landeghem and Penny...