Canadian Cycling Team Nominated For TORONTO 2015 Pan Am Games

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

On Monday, the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Cycling Canada Cyclisme announced the 24 cycling athletes nominated to represent Team Canada at the TORONTO 2015 Pan American Games from July 10 to 26. The announcement was made at the Cisco Milton Pan Am/Parapan Am Velodrome, home of the track cycling events for the Games.

As host nation, Canada will be fielding the maximum 24 cyclists across all disciplines, representing the largest cycling team at the Pan Am Games. A total of 16 cyclists will race in the Track and Road events, in addition to four in Mountain Bike and four in BMX.

Historically, Canada has won 43 medals in cycling at the Pan Am Games: 21 gold, nine silver and 13 bronze. Three cyclists nominated to Team Canada have previously won medals at the Pan Am Games: Laura Brown (2011), Jasmin Glaesser (2011) and Catharine Pendrel (2007).

The cycling competition will take place at multiple venues and include the following events:

Road Cycling: men’s and women’s road race, Ontario Place West Channel, July 25; men’s and women’s individual time trial, Milton Time Trial Course, July 22

Track Cycling: men’s and women’s team pursuit, men’s and women’s team sprint, men’s and women’s sprint, men’s and women’s keirin, men’s and women’s omnium, Cisco Milton Pan Am/Parapan Am Velodrome, July 16-19

BMX: men’s and women’s, Centennial Park Pan Am BMX Centre, July 11

Mountain Bike: men’s and women’s cross-country, Hardwood Mountain Bike Park, July 12.

Two key legacy projects that were born out of the 2015 Pan Am Games will bring long-term benefits to the cycling sports. For track cycling, the main centrepiece will be the game-changing world-class velodrome built in Milton, ON - one of only three internationally-sanctioned covered velodromes in North America. It is anticipated that the permanent BMX track at Centennial Park in Etobicoke, located south of Toronto Pearson International Airport, will also bring a wave of new athletes to Eastern Canada.

Canada will field the largest team in its Pan American Games history with more than 700 athletes expected to be named to the Team at the Games in Toronto. With TORONTO 2015 providing a “home Games” experience, as well as a number of qualification opportunities for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, these Games will offer a tremendous experience for Canada’s high performance athletes.

The cycling contingent which will represent Canada at the TORONTO 2015 Games includes:


Track Cycling

Name / Hometown/ Event
Hugo Barrette / Cap-aux-Meules, QC / Men’s Sprint, Men’s Team Sprint
Allison Beveridge / Calgary, AB / Women’s Team Pursuit
Laura Brown / Vancouver, BC / Women’s Team Pursuit
Evan Carey / Victoria, BC / Men’s Sprint, Men’s Team Sprint
Jasmin Glaesser / Coquitlam, BC / Women’s Team Pursuit
Adam Jamieson / Barrie, ON / Men’s Team Pursuit
Eric Johnstone / Calgary, AB / Men’s Team Pursuit
Kirsti Lay / Medicine Hat, AB / Women’s Team Pursuit
Sean MacKinnon / Hamilton, ON / Men’s Team Pursuit
Kate O’Brien / Calgary, AB / Women’s Keirin, Women’s Sprint, Women’s Team Sprint
Remi Pelletier-Roy / Longueuil, QC / Men’s Team Pursuit, Men’s Omnium
Monique Sullivan / Calgary, AB / Women’s Keirin, Women’s Sprint, Women’s Team Sprint
Ed Veal / Queensville, ON / Men’s Team Pursuit
Joseph Veloce / Fonthill, ON / Men’s Sprint, Men’s Team Sprint

Mountain Bike

Name / Hometown/ Event
Emily Batty / Brooklin, ON / Women’s cross-country

Raphael Gagne / Quebec, QC / Men’s cross-country
Catharine Pendrel / Kamloops, BC / Women’s cross-country
Derek Zandstra / Trenton, ON / Men’s cross-country


Name / Hometown/ Event
Jimmy Brown / Airdrie, AB / Women’s BMX
Tory Nyhaug / Coquitlam, BC / Men’s BMX
Daina Tuchscherer / Chestermere, AB / Women’s BMX
Amelia Walsh / Ayr, ON / Women’s BMX


Name / Hometown/ Event
Allison Beveridge / Calgary, AB / Women’s Road Race
Guillaume Boivin / Longueuil, QC / Men’s Road Race
Laura Brown / Vancouver, BC / Women’s Time Trial
Jasmin Glaesser / Coquitlam, BC / Women’s Road Race; Women’s Time Trial
Kirsti Lay / Medicine Hat, AB / Women’s Road Race
Sean MacKinnon / Hamilton, ON / Men’s Road Race
Remi Pelletier-Roy / Longueuil, QC / Men’s Road Race
Hugo Houle / Ste-Perpetue,QC / Men’s Road Race, Men’s Time Trial

Coaching/Support Staff:

Position / Name / Hometown
Head Coach, BMX / Ken Cools / Abbotsford, BC
Coach, Endurance Track Women / Craig Griffin / Colorado Springs, CO
Coach, Track Sprint / Erin Hartwell / Dundas, ON
Head Coach/High-Performance Director / Jacques Landry / Ottawa, ON

Physiotherapist / Tara Lazarski / North Vancouver, BC
Coach, Endurance Track Men / Ian Melvin / Milton, ON
Mechanic, BMX / Adam Muys / Maple Ridge, BC
Communications Manager/Media Attache / Guy Napert-Frenette / Calgary, AB
Mechanic, Track & Road / Dan Peters / Hamilton, ON
Head Coach, Mountain Bike / Adam Trotter / Waterloo, ON

Physiotherapist / Jenn Turner / New Westminister, BC
High-Performance Manager / Kris Westwood / Ottawa, ON

Story and Photo from the Canadian Olympic Committee Website |

Latest News

  • February 22, 2017
    Mondo, the global leader in the track and field, indoor sport and contract flooring markets, today announced a partnership with Athletics Canada, the sport governing body for track and field in Canada. As part of the partnership, Mondo will provide...
  • February 22, 2017
    Paralympians and world champions Katie Harnock , Jamey Jewells , Adam Lancia and Janet McLachlan are hanging up their jerseys after announcing their retirements from the Canadian National Wheelchair Basketball Teams. A multiple Paralympic medallist...
  • February 21, 2017
    Paralympic swimming medallist and Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, the Honorable Carla Qualtrough, is among a group of five uniquely accomplished individuals named today as the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame’s inductees for 2017,...
  • VISTA Logo
    February 10, 2017
    The winner of the award will give a keynote address at September’s VISTA conference in Toronto, Canada. There are just two weeks to go until nominations for the highly prestigious International Paralympic Committee ( IPC ) Scientific Award close on...
  • February 9, 2017
    With exactly 365 days until the Opening Ceremony of the XXIII Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, South Korea, the Canadian Olympic Committee ( COC ) is hard at work to create an environment that will help athletes achieve their best performances...